Malaysia mapAglow Leader:
Swee Lin Tan
National Committee President

Capital: Kuala Lumpur


  • Pray for continued unity among Christians in the face of opposition to Christianity.
  • Pray for more Aglow groups to be established in the nation.
  • Pray for Aglow leaders to rise more fully to their new identity in Christ.
  • Pray for God’s blessing on Malaysia’s political leaders that they will be empowered by God’s transforming power to lead the nation in righteousness and truth so that all people can live in peace and unity.


  • Declare the glory of God to shine forth in Malaysia.  Proclaim that those who walk in darkness will be liberated.
  • Declare that the community of believers will manifest the radiance of Christ  in Malaysia so that all men will be drawn to Christ.

Read about the Aglow Malaysia Prayer Journey

Interesting Facts About Malaysia

Malaysia flagBackground: During the late 18th and 19th centuries, Great Britain established colonies and protectorates in the area of current Malaysia; these were occupied by Japan from 1942 to 1945. In 1948, the British-ruled territories on the Malay Peninsula except Singapore formed the Federation of Malaya, which became independent in 1957.

Malaysia was formed in 1963 when the former British colonies of Singapore, as well as Sabah and Sarawak on the northern coast of Borneo, joined the Federation. The first several years of the country’s independence were marred by a communist insurgency, Indonesian confrontation with Malaysia, Philippine claims to Sabah, and Singapore’s withdrawal in 1965. During the 22-year term of Prime Minister MAHATHIR bin Mohamad (1981-2003), Malaysia was successful in diversifying its economy from dependence on exports of raw materials to the development of manufacturing, services, and tourism.

Prime Minister Mohamed NAJIB bin Abdul Razak (in office since April 2009) has continued these pro-business policies and has introduced some civil reforms.

Government Type: constitutional monarchy
Note: nominally headed by paramount ruler (commonly referred to as the king) and a bicameral Parliament consisting of a nonelected upper house and an elected lower house; all Peninsular Malaysian states have hereditary rulers (commonly referred to as sultans) except Melaka (Malacca) and Pulau Pinang (Penang); those two states along with Sabah and Sarawak in East Malaysia have governors appointed by government; powers of state governments are limited by federal constitution; under terms of federation, Sabah and Sarawak retain certain constitutional prerogatives (e.g., right to maintain their own immigration controls)

Population: 29,628,392 (July 2013 est.)

Ethnic Groups: Malay 50.4%, Chinese 23.7%, indigenous 11%, Indian 7.1%, others 7.8% (2004 est.)

Languages: Bahasa Malaysia (official), English, Chinese (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai
Note: in East Malaysia there are several indigenous languages; most widely spoken are Iban and Kadazan

Religions: Muslim (or Islam – official) 60.4%, Buddhist 19.2%, Christian 9.1%, Hindu 6.3%, Confucianism, Taoism, other traditional Chinese religions 2.6%, other or unknown 1.5%, none 0.8% (2000 census)

Interesting Facts information from the website. Read more about Malaysia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.